Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/web/public_html/bb/showpost.php on line 215

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/web/public_html/bb/showpost.php on line 220
CRUISING for SEX - View Single Post - fighting lewd conduct charge
View Single Post
Old 8th June 2005, 11:10 AM
AssMan
Cruiser

I'm a lawyer in Illinois. I don't know California law and if you want absolutely correct answers to your questions, you should consult a lawyer who knows California law. But here are answers to your questions based on my experience.

(1) No, there is not much risk of a greater penalty if you are convicted after pleading not guilty versus a guilty plea. As a first time offender, the most you're going to get if convicted is probation. This will be true whether you plead guilty or not.

(2) See #1, above.

(3) Courts and police do not report crimes to employers. It's not part of their mission or power to do so. However, court records are public records, and employers can search court records whenever they feel like it. They generally only do it (if ever) before hiring someone.

(4) Lewd conduct statutes are generally not worded in a way that requires someone to have to have been present to witness the conduct and be offended by it. It's possible that courts in California could interpret such a statute that way (here's where you need the California lawyer), but I highly doubt it.

(5) Your orientation and prior acts have nothing to do with whether you did what you were accused of doing. If you were ever on trial for this, your lawyer would object to such questions, if they were even asked, and no judge would allow such questions in.