Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/web/public_html/bb/showpost.php on line 215

Deprecated: Assigning the return value of new by reference is deprecated in /home/web/public_html/bb/showpost.php on line 220
CRUISING for SEX - View Single Post - Getting Stood Up
View Single Post
Old 4th March 2006, 05:26 PM
ScruffyCub
Cruiser

Quote:
You could also give yourself a 45 minute late rule.

I've been employing this rule for a couple years now, but I allow an hour (Jacksonville has some big-ass city-limits, and lots of guys are even willing to meet from much further than that, so... an hour LATE is ample time to know I'm being stiffed).

It depends on WHERE the guy says he is driving from, though. I will usually tell the dude online first that I'll allow leeway for drive-time and the possibility that he might get lost. I'll give him my number and tell him to call for directions if he needs to, or to let me know he'll be more than an hour late. If I hear nothing and he doesn't show -- I'll either not answer the door at all or more likely, greet him and tell him to forget it. Most of the time, though -- if a dude doesn't show up in an hour after the arranged time, he's never showing up at all.

I actually met a dude online who lived in my own apartment complex. His building was walking distance (the complex is huge and covers a couple miles, but he was close). He said he'd be over in ten minutes -- enough time to walk it and enough time to leisurely get ready and drive over.

I think he showed up ninety minutes later. I had given up entirely and went outside to walk the dog. I see this car drive by and the guy looking at me with the dog. He parked and got out, shirtless, and walked to my apartment as I was returning with the dog.

"Dude," I told him. "You've got to be kidding. You're over an hour late and you live five minutes away. I'm going to bed, nothing's happening tonight."